Your Reading List

Varieties designated for 2018 wheat class

It might take a bit of thought to keep all the old and new classes straight, but here are the wheat varieties scheduled to be moved into a new Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) class effective August 1, 2018.

There are 29 long-standing Canadian wheat varieties on the list and of those, 25 were originally registered as hard red spring varieties in the CWRS class. The new CHNR class will also include four Canada Prairie Spring (CPS) varieties formerly in the Canada Prairie Spring Red (CPSR) class.

There will be no change in any class for the 2016 and 2017 growing seasons, but come the spring of 2018 farmers will have to decide whether they will continue to grow these varieties to be listed under the new Canada Northern Hard Red class.

Canada Western Red Spring (CWRS) varieties movingto Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) class

  • AC Abbey
  • AC Cora
  • AC Eatonia
  • AC Majestic
  • AC Michael
  • AC Minto
  • Alvena
  • Alikat
  • CDC Makwa
  • CDC Osler
  • Columbus
  • Conway
  • Harvest
  • Kane
  • Katepwa
  • Leader
  • Lillian
  • McKenzie
  • Neepawa
  • Park
  • Pasqua
  • Pembina
  • Thatcher
  • Unity
  • 5603HR

Canada Prairie Spring Red (CPSR) varieties moving to the Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) class

  • AC Foremost
  • AC Taber
  • Conquer
  • Oslo

About the author

Field Editor

Lee Hart

Lee Hart is editor of Cattleman’s Corner based in Calgary.



Stories from our other publications