Your Reading List

Wheat class changes for 2016

While it is the hard red spring (CWRS) varieties that capture most of the attention as the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) introduces some new wheat classifications effective in 2018, there are some changes taking place for the 2016 growing season.

Starting this year, effective August 1, 2016, the CGC is changing the name (and moving 22 varieties) of the Canada Western General Purpose (CWGP) that includes many of the feed wheats to a new name — Canada Western Special Purpose (CWSP) class.

Here’s the list:

Canada Western General Purpose (CWGP) varieties moving to Canada Western Special Purpose (CWSP) class:

  • AAC Proclaim
  • AAC Innova
  • AAC NRG097
  • Accipiter
  • Broadview
  • CDC Clair
  • CDC Falcon
  • CDC Harrier
  • CDC Kestrel
  • CDC NRG003
  • CDC Primepurple
  • CDC Ptarmigan
  • CDC Raptor
  • Minnedosa
  • NRG010
  • Pasteur
  • Peregrine
  • Pintail
  • SY087
  • Sunrise
  • Swainson
  • WFT 603

North Dakota Hard Reds

And if you have had an eye on some promising North Dakota varieties, which are now registered in Canada, those three Hard Red Spring wheats will be moving into the new Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) this year.

The varieties, Elgin-ND, Prosper and Faller are described as high yielding, good disease resistant, hard red springs, but they fall short of making the quality standards of Canada Western Red Spring. The three varieties developed in North Dakota have been parked in a temporary Canada Western Interim Wheat (CWIW) class until the CGC decided on permanent name for a new class. The North Dakota varieties will be designated as Canada Northern Hard Red (CNHR) class starting this August.

Twenty-nine other Canadian Hard Red and CPS varieties will move into the CNHR class in 2018.

About the author

Field Editor

Lee Hart

Lee Hart is editor of Cattleman’s Corner based in Calgary.



Stories from our other publications