Egg Farmers acclaim N.S. producer as chief

Annapolis Valley egg producer Peter Clarke has been acclaimed as the new chair of the Egg Farmers of Canada.

Clarke, who farms at Woodville in western Nova Scotia, was named Wednesday to replace Laurent Souligny, who stepped down from the post at the organization’s annual meeting in Ottawa.

B.C. egg producer Fred Krahn was elected to replace Clarke as the EFC’s first vice-chair, while George MacLeod of New Brunswick becomes second vice-chair. Quebec producer Serge Lefebvre was elected to the group’s executive committee.

Clarke, in a release Friday, was quoted as emphasizing the importance of maintaining strong support for supply management from all federal political parties, “especially during federal election campaigns.”

EFC, he said, also needs to remain active internationally with its “supply management partners” as well as before bodies that establish guidelines considered by governments when they develop agricultural programs and regulations.

He also noted his “full support” for further development of marketing programs to keep up egg consumption by highlighting their protein profile.

A board member of the Nova Scotia Egg Producers since 1987, Clarke has been the province’s representative on the EFC (formerly the Canadian Egg Marketing Agency) board since 1995 and has chaired several EFC committees, most recently its research committee.

Clarke, a former board chairman of ACA Co-operative, was named to the Order of Nova Scotia in 2007.

Souligny, who farms at Prescott County east of Ottawa, had served as EFC and CEMA’s chairman since 2000. “I feel I’m leaving the Canadian egg industry in better shape than I found it,” he said in EFC’s release Friday.

About the author

Glacier FarmMedia Feed

GFM Network News

Glacier FarmMedia, a division of Glacier Media, is Canada's largest publisher of agricultural news in print and online.



Stories from our other publications