Alta. dairyman named new NFU president

A central Alberta dairy farmer has been acclaimed as the new president of Canada’s National Farmers Union (NFU).

Jan Slomp, who with wife Marian operates Rimrose Dairy at Rimbey, about 65 km northwest of Red Deer, was named unopposed to the organization’s top post during its four-day annual convention ending Saturday in Ottawa.

Slomp, previously the Alberta regional co-ordinator on the NFU’s board, replaces grain grower Terry Boehm of Allan, Sask. as president.

The organization’s new executive was largely acclaimed during the meeting, with Ann Slater of St. Marys, Ont. named as first vice-president (policy), replacing Colleen Ross of Nelson, B.C.

Coral Sproule of Perth, Ont., previously a Region 3 representative on the NFU board, was acclaimed second vice-president (operations), replacing Paul Slomp of Ottawa.

Joan Brady, a market garden producer at Dashwood, Ont., was acclaimed to another term as NFU women’s president, while Marcella Pedersen of Cut Knife, Sask. was elected as NFU women’s vice-president, replacing Kathleen Charpentier of Castor, Alta.

Alex Fletcher, a market garden producer at Metchosin, B.C. and previous NFU youth vice-president, was acclaimed as NFU youth president, replacing Cammie Harbottle of Tatamagouche, N.S.

Lisa Lundgard, a cattle producer at Grimshaw, Alta. and member of the NFU youth advisory committee, was elected to replace Fletcher as NFU youth vice-president.

The Saskatoon-based NFU, formed in 1969 by a merger of the Saskatchewan Farmers Union, Ontario Farmers Union, Farmers Union of B.C. and Manitoba Farmers Union, campaigns for “development of economic and social policies that will maintain the family farm as the primary food-producing unit in Canada.” — Network

About the author

Glacier FarmMedia Feed

GFM Network News

Glacier FarmMedia, a division of Glacier Media, is Canada's largest publisher of agricultural news in print and online.



Stories from our other publications